If you are coming from Centos6 this will be different. forget to edit  inittab file .  in Centos7 everything is  managed  from systemd . normally there is two  ways  to change boot  level in Centos7.
This tutorial maybe for  beginners to understand  how it work boot levels in Centos7

1-From systemctl

Show  the  current level

This is Text mode in Old Centos releases ( runlevel 3)

Show other available targets


Switch  to   Graphical  Mode  GUI  (Runlevel 5) in centos 7

Now reboot  your  machine

That was it.

2-Method  II to   switch boot Level

Everything is based on defautl target settings

defaut.target  is linked to  graphical.target and to   switch to other boot levels

Show Targets  availables :

To  swicth   to  other  level

remove default target level file  (unlink)

link The new target  to the  default file

Reboot  and enoy

Linux Engineer, born in Morocco, living in Amsterdam. with large knowledge of TUX and opensource. am Working with Linux from very long time , i have created this blog to serve people. please join us


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here